Hourglass by Myra McEntire Review

Hourglass by Myra McEntireHourglass

By Myra McEntire

Publisher: Egmont

Synopsis: 

One hour to rewrite the past . . .

For seventeen-year-old Emerson Cole, life is about seeing what isn’t there: swooning Southern Belles; soldiers long forgotten; a haunting jazz trio that vanishes in an instant. Plagued by phantoms since her parents’ death, she just wants the apparitions to stop so she can be normal. She’s tried everything, but the visions keep coming back.So when her well-meaning brother brings in a consultant from a secretive organization called the Hourglass, Emerson’s willing to try one last cure. But meeting Michael Weaver may not only change her future, it may change her past.

Who is this dark, mysterious, sympathetic guy, barely older than Emerson herself, who seems to believe every crazy word she says? Why does an electric charge seem to run through the room whenever he’s around? And why is he so insistent that he needs her help to prevent a death that never should have happened?

Hourglass by Myra McEntire

Review by Me!

5 Squees/5 Squees

I’ve been happily waiting for this book ever since I started stalking Myra McEntire on Twitter. When it came up for review, I snatched it up as fast as I could.

I had a lot of anticipation and excitement built up before I even read this one, and I’ve found in the past that such excitement brings let down. This WAS NOT the case with Hourglass. I was anticipating an amazing book and Myra McEntire delivered!

First off I have to say I was in love with Emerson from page one. I have a thing for strong female leads and I knew right away that Emerson was going to be amazing. The characters kept delighting me as I went on. I love Michael, Lilly and Kaleb too. My favorite for sure was Kaleb. We don’t see a lot of him in the story, but the places where he does show up are amazing. I was completely head over heels with him from first introduction. I actually found myself hoping he’d pop up in other places while I was reading. I loved his moments with Emerson, but I envisioned him with Lilly more.  I really hope that there is going to be another book. I definitely felt like there needed to be a storyline of Kaleb and Lilly meeting and falling in love. I expected it to happen the whole time.

I also loved the storyline in Hourglass. I didn’t once feel lost or confused. It definitely was something I hadn’t read before. I loved the many twists that Myra McEntire wrote into this story and I was left surprised and in suspense all the way through the end. I love the idea of The Hourglass and people with abilities. Without giving anything away, I’ll just say you are going to love where this book goes. The plot was just so amazing and enthralling. The Squees were plentiful and overflowing.

I absolutely adored this book, as you can probably tell, and I love this author! Hourglass doesn’t come out till June 14th, but I just COULD NOT wait to put up this review. I’m working on getting an author interview closer to the release date and I’ll happily remind you on the day it comes out. Check this book out! You will not regret it.

This entry was posted in Egmont, Review, YA Review and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

