The Lipstick Laws by Amy Holder Review

The Lipstick Laws by Amy HolderThe Lipstick Laws

By Amy Holder

Publisher: Graphia

Synopsis: 

At Penford High School, Britney Taylor is queen bee.  She dates whomever she likes, rules over her inner circle of friends like Genghis Khan, and can ruin anyone’s life as easily as snapping her perfectly manicured fingers.  Just ask the unfortunate few who have crossed her.

For April Bowers, Britney is also the answer to her prayers.  With zero friends and nothing close to a boyfriend, April is so unpopular, kids don’t know she exists.  That is, until Britney notices her.  One lunch spent at Britney’s table, and April is basking in the glow of popularity.

But Britney’s friendship comes with a price tag.

How much is April willing to pay?

The Lipstick Laws by Amy Holder

Review by Me!

2 Squees/5 Squees

The second I started reading this book I felt like it was really familiar. It didn’t take me long to realize that it was very much like Mean Girls. I adored that movie, so I wasn’t sure how I’d feel about this book.

The Lipstick Laws really wasn’t for me. It wasn’t a bad book, but I just felt like it was very bland and not very deep. The character April seemed extremely vain to me the whole time and not much better than the main mean girl. I don’t feel like there every was a time when she realized that she was acting the same way.

I guess my biggest problem with this book was that it was showing the girls being extremely petty and vapid and there really wasn’t a big portion of time where any of them realized their wrong doings. I would have liked them to come to some sort of terms with the way they were acting. I feel like Jess was the only character with a soul and who cared.

For being a light read, I didn’t mind it, but it really isn’t something I’d recommend to anyone looking for something great to read. Check it out if you like cute middle school esque stories, with very little depth to them.

This entry was posted in Graphia Publishing, Review, YA Review and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

