What Happened to Goodbye by Sarah Dessen Review

What Happened to Goodbye by Sarah DessenWhat Happened to Goodbye

by Sarah Dessen

Publisher: Viking

Synopsis: 

Ever since her parents’ bitter divorce, Mclean and her father have been fleeing their unhappy past and Mclean’s become a pro at reinventing herself with each move.

But in Lakeview, Mclean finds herself putting down roots and making friends-in part, thanks to Dave, the most real person Mclean’s ever met.

Dave just may be falling in love with her, but can he see the person Mclean really is? Does Mclean herself know?

What Happened to Goodbye by Sarah Dessen

Review by Me!

4 Squees/ 5 Squees

I’ve read a lot of Sarah Dessen’s books and I’m always very pleased with what I read. I felt the same way about What Happened to Goodbye.

When I got the chance to read and review this one, I hopped on it. I’ve read all or nearly all of Sarah Dessen’s books and they always leave me feeling refreshed and happy. Sarah Dessen deals with some tough personal battles within her novels, but they never get so deep that the book feels suffocating.

I really liked What Happened to Goodbye. I felt like Mclean was very real and someone that I could really relate to. Who doesn’t want to run away and start out new? I know I have many times. While I don’t recommend the things Mclean did to re-invent herself, I feel like ultimately they helped her find herself.

I really liked Dave and Jason in this book too. They were the perfect combination of nerdy and intelligent, but were both very different. I also enjoyed the romance in this novel. Too many times in YA fiction, the main characters meet and fall in love IMMEDIATELY. That irritates me. It isn’t realistic. I like that in Sarah Dessen’s books, romance takes time. It takes the characters time to realize their feelings for each other and it isn’t a whirlwind from the beginning.

All in all I really enjoyed this book. It kept me enthralled and I really felt it was believable and real. I loved the rawness of the characters and that they all were struggling just to fit in and make it. Each of them were struggling with very different things, but they all just wanted to be a part of something.

This entry was posted in Review, Viking, YA Review and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to What Happened to Goodbye by Sarah Dessen Review

  1. Mary says:

    This makes me so excited how did you get your hands on a copy?

    • Manda Kay says:

      As a book blogger I receive advanced reading copies to review. I got this one from a friend who is also a blogger and we exchange our copies sometimes. It was a great read! You’ll have to definitely check it out! 🙂

      • mary says:

        I just finished it was amazing!! If you know of any other good YA romance books let me know, I feel like I’ve read alot of YA fiction and am always looking for something new and exciting. I love sarah dessen, this lullaby is my favourite but what happened to goodbye is definitely in the top 5 for me.

Leave a Reply

