Never Eighteen by Megan Bostic Review

Never Eighteen by Megan BosticNever Eighteen

by Megan Bostic

Publisher: Houghton Mifflin Harcourt

Synopsis:

Austin Parker is on a journey to bring truth, beauty, and meaning to his life.

Austin Parker is never going to see his eighteenth birthday. At the rate he’s going, he probably won’t even see the end of the year. The doctors say his chances of surviving are slim to none even with treatment, so he’s decided it’s time to let go.

But before he goes, Austin wants to mend the broken fences in his life. So with the help of his best friend, Kaylee, Austin visits every person in his life who touched him in a special way. He journeys to places he’s loved and those he’s never seen. And what starts as a way to say goodbye turns into a personal journey that brings love, acceptance, and meaning to Austin’s life.

Never Eighteen by Megan Bostic

Review by Me!

First off, I didn’t give this one a squee rating because I didn’t feel that it was appropriate.  There is too much emotion and real life in this book to give it that sort of rating.

When I read the synopsis of this book, I knew I was going to have a hard time with it. This is definitely not one for the faint of heart and I would recommend having a box of tissues near by.

The pain and heartache that the characters go through is so intense that I found myself in tears throughout the whole thing. I also knew that sadder moments were coming, so I had to brace myself.

You will cry reading this. If you don’t, then I worry about you. Having experienced the death of loved ones, I’ve contemplated how I’d spend my last days. Austin did exactly what I would do if given the chance to know my time was up. The people he reaches out to and the changes he tries to make are strong and emotional. I knew right away there was going to be an emotional moment with Kaylee and it came for sure.

This was a tear jerker and hard read for me, but I recommend it. This book will make you think about the people in your life and the impact you have on them. You’ll feel pain, guilt and loss just like I did. I felt connected to Austin and Kaylee, which made the end so much harder to read. Being a avid YA reader, I’m used to so much fluff and happy stuff. This book is not the case. I wouldn’t recommend this one if you’re currently dealing with grief, but it is worth the read.

This entry was posted in Houghton Mifflin Harcourt, Review, YA Review and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

