The Magnolia League by Katie Crouch Review

The Magnolia League by Katie CrouchThe Magnolia League

by Katie Crouch

Publisher: Hachette Book Group

Synopsis:

When her free-spirited mother dies in a tragic accident, sixteen-year-old Alexandria Lee is forced to leave her West Coast home and move in with a wealthy grandmother she’s never known in Savannah, Georgia. By birth, Alex is a rightful if unwilling member of the Magnolia League-Savannah’s long-standing debutante society. But white gloves and silk gowns are a far cry from the vintage t-shirts and torn jeans shorts she’s used to.

Alex is the first in decades to question the Magnolia League’s intentions, yet even she becomes entangled in their seductive world. The members enjoy youth, beauty and power…but at what cost? As Alex discovers a pact between the Magnolias and the Buzzards, a legendary hoodoo family, she discovers secrets-some deadly-hidden beneath the glossy Southern veneer.

The Magnolia League by Katie Crouch

Review by Me!

3 Squees/ 5 Squees

I’ve read a bunch of reviews of this book and I even read a couple BEFORE reading the book. When I first received this book, it sounded interesting enough, but I had other things I wanted to read first. Everyone seemed really into this book, but I just didn’t feel the same way. Don’t get me wrong, it wasn’t a bad book, it just wasn’t my favorite.

I didn’t mind the character of Alex. As a character, she was a pretty strong person and was great to read about. You all know how I feel about strong female leads, so I was very pleased with how she handled herself. That was in the beginning though and during some points throughout the book.

I didn’t like how things played out in this novel. Everything was very random and jumpy to me. I felt like things were happening that didn’t make a whole lot of sense and didn’t really fit into the flow of the book. I also didn’t like how Alex just goes along with things at a point even though she fought them so much. I also didn’t like the time lapses. I felt like time went by so fast and so much detail was left out of those time gaps.

I also didn’t feel like the secondary characters were developed enough. Thaddeus could have had a lot more depth to him. He just seemed like he was there to fill the “male” role and not really anything else.

I enjoyed the plot though. I like the concept of a debutante “secret” society of women. I also liked the mixed in stuff with the hoodoo. I wish that the Buzzard family was brought in and explained a bit more. There was just too many gaps and unexplained things going on for me to be really drawn in.

I plan on giving Katie Crouch a second chance and reading the next book in the series. If it’s as mixed up and random as this one though, I won’t be reading on. All in all there was a great opportunity here and a great plot line, but there was just to many holes for me and too many “why” moments. I hope to see things explained and a more even flow in the rest of the series.

This entry was posted in Hachette Book Group, Review, YA Review and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

