Shatter Me by Tahereh Mafi Review

Shatter Me

by Tahereh Mafi

Publisher: HarperCollins

Synopsis: Juliette hasn’t touched anyone in exactly 264 days. The last time she did, it was an accident, but The Reestablishment locked her up for murder. No one knows why Juliette’s touch is fatal. As long as she doesn’t hurt anyone else, no one really cares. The world is too busy crumbling to pieces to pay attention to a 17-year-old girl. Diseases are destroying the population, food is hard to find, birds don’t fly anymore, and the clouds are the wrong color.

The Reestablishment said their way was the only way to fix things, so they threw Juliette in a cell. Now so many people are dead that the survivors are whispering war– and The Reestablishment has changed its mind. Maybe Juliette is more than a tortured soul stuffed into a poisonous body. Maybe she’s exactly what they need right now.

Juliette has to make a choice:
Be a weapon. Or be a warrior.

 

Shatter Me by Tahereh Mafi

Review by Me!

5 Squees/ 5 Squees

I checked this out because it was one of the only e-books available from my public library. I absolutely loved it. A lot of the reviews I read said that they thought the beginning was boring and they didn’t like the style of writing that the author chose. I agree with the beginning a bit slow, but it wasn’t that bad. I was able to keep entertained and pulled into the story. I also loved the style this book was written in. I feel like it gave the reader the ability to tap into Juliette’s mind without tons of “thinking” moments. I have a problem reading first person narratives that spend a lot of time inside the mind of the character. This was not the case with this style of writing. I was intrigued by Juliette from the beginning and the introduction of Adam was amazing. I loved that the reader is left confused by a lot in the beginning, but it all comes together quickly.

I have to say that Adam was my favorite character with Kenji and Juliette coming in close behind. I just adored Adam’s heart and his compassion. There are times we, as readers, were meant to question his loyalty and I was always cheering for him to be a good guy. Juliette is a strong female lead, even though she has many times of weakness. I love her internal battle she is fighting and the journey she has to take to find herself. Kenji is just hilarious. He’s like the comedic relief when things get a little too emotional. I am really excited to see more of him in the sequel. All in all I think Tahereh Mafi did a great job with character development and I can’t wait to see where she takes her characters in the rest of the series. I’m even curious about Warner, even though he irritates me.

The sequel doesn’t come out till February, which is killing me already. Tahereh Mafi is releasing a novella in October that is solely about Warner. I might have to check it out only because I have some questions about him and want to see if they are answered. I highly recommend this to anyone into post-apocalyptic fiction and even those who really aren’t. This book is very mental and emotional, which I think makes it good for any YA fan. Tahereh Mafi is definitely one of my favorite new authors and I can’t wait to see what else she brings to the table.

This entry was posted in HarperCollins, Review, YA Review and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

