One Pink Line by Dina Silver Review

One Pink Line

by Dina Silver

Publisher: Createspace

Synopsis:
Can the love of a lifetime be forever changed by one pink line? Dina Silver’s tender, absorbing novel, One Pink Line, is the warmhearted, wry story of love, loss and family, as seen through the prism of one singular, spirited young couple who find themselves in a predicament that changes the course of their lives, and those closest to them. With heart, humor and compassion, this debut work of women’s fiction is certain to stir anyone who relishes a good laugh, can stand a good cry, and, above all believes in the redemptive power of love. This unique, contemporary story gives readers a dual perspective.

Sydney Shephard, a sweet-tempered, strong-natured college senior is young, in love with an exceptional man, and unexpectedly pregnant. Faced with a child she never planned for, she is forced to relay this news to her neurotic mother, relinquish her youth, and risk losing the love of her life. Then there’s Grace, a daughter, who believed she was a product of this great love, grows to realize her existence is not what she assumed, and is left with profound and puzzling questions about who she really is.

 

One Pink Line by Dina Silver

Review by Manda Kay

4 Squees/5 Squees

First off, I read this book in only a few hours. I stayed up till the wee hours of the night finishing it and I was pulled in from the beginning. This is not usually a genre that I read and definitely not one I usually review, but I am a big girl now and I guess it’s time for more big girl books. I have to say I really loved this book. I was pulled in by the emotions and at times I even felt them a long with Sydney. This wasn’t a highly descriptive story, which I think worked ok for it, but at times it did feel a bit rushed and important moments were just tossed in and sped through.

As far as characters go, I adored Sydney, Ethan and Kendra. Kevin really shocked me and Sydney’s mother just irritated me to death. I feel like a lot of the characters had really intense mood swings that were sometimes unrealistic. I don’t believe that people can change their feelings on a matter as quickly as it happened in this book, but this might just come back to things being rushed at times.

I really didn’t care for Grace’s point of view. It didn’t seem like it was as developed as the parts for Sydney. I found myself at times wanting to rush through Grace’s chapters so I could continue on reading about Sydney. It just felt like the author took a badly developed YA novel and tossed it into a better developed women’s fiction book. I also wasn’t surprised by the reveal in the ending. I don’t know if it was intended to be a surprise, but I know from the beginning how it would turn out. I do have to say that I was rooting for it to end the way it did and so I was delighted when it turned out that way. Sorry for being so vague, trying to stay spoiler free.

All in all I would recommend this book to others, especially those suffering from baby fever like I am. Like I said before, I was pulled in from page one and read all the way through till the end. I’m curious to see what else this author has to offer and will definitely be checking out more of her other novels in the future.

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through Netgalley.com. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.

This entry was posted in Createspace, Review and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to One Pink Line by Dina Silver Review

  1. Elli says:

    Really enjoyed this post, is there any way I can receive an alert email whenever you publish a fresh post?

Leave a Reply

