Dash & Lily’s Book of Dares by Rachel Cohn & David Levithan Review

Dash & Lily’s Book of Dares

by Rachel Cohn & David Levithan

Publisher: Harlequin UK Ltd

Synopsis:

“I’ve left some clues for you. If you want them, turn the page. If you don’t, put the book back on the shelf, please.”

Lily has left a red notebook full of challenges on a favorite bookstore shelf, waiting for just the right guy to come along and accept its dares. But is Dash that right guy? Or are Dash and Lily only destined to trade dares, dreams, and desires in the notebook they pass back and forth at locations across New York? Could their in-person selves possibly connect as well as their notebook versions? Or will they be a comic mismatch of disastrous proportions?

Dash & Lily’s Book of Dares by Rachel Cohn & David Levithan

Review by Manda Kay

5 Squees/ 5 Squees

I have to say that the synopsis of this book pulled me in immediately. The fact that the story begins in a bookstore had me from the beginning. I absolutely adored this book. Dash and Lily live in my world, and not just the one inside my head. They are avid readers, they live in this eclectic book store and they’re intelligent, witty characters. I knew that I would be very happy with this novel, and I was right.

First off, I completely 100% adore both Dash and Lily. I’m having a hard time picking which I like best, but if it came down to life and death I guess I’d have to say Dash. He is so witty and smart. Everything about his character is just perfect. I love that Cohn and Levithan have written such intelligent, wise teenagers. You don’t see this often in this genre and it was refreshing. I really loved Lily as well. I love how quirky she is and how ok she is with being different. I feel like if I could be best friends with two characters they would be Dash and Lily. I also really liked all of the secondary characters in this book, though to be honest, Boomer really annoyed me. I think that was the point, but I couldn’t work out how someone so dim could be best friends with someone like Dash. I guess it just shows how much of a good guy Dash is.

As far as setting goes, I love anything that takes place in New York. It just seems like you just get so many interesting scene choices in such an eclectic city. I loved everything about The Strand. I wish that I had a bookstore this amazing sounding that I could go hide away in. I loved that the employees fit so well with the feel of such an amazing sounding store. Everything that Cohn and Levithan put into their setting was perfect and I don’t think this book could have taken place anywhere else.

All in all, this was an amazing novel. I would recommend it to anyone who loves a smart, witty book with spark. I really love what Cohn and Levithan do together as writers and can’t wait to read more from them in the future.

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through Netgalley.com. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.

This entry was posted in Harlequin UK Ltd, Review, YA Review and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

