Saving Wishes by G.J. Walker-Smith Review

Saving Wishes

by G.J. Walker-Smith

Publisher: Gemma Walker-Smith

Synopsis:

For Charli Blake, being seventeen is a tough gig.

She’s been branded a troublemaker, her reputation is in tatters and she’s stuck in Pipers Cove, a speck of a town on the coast of Tasmania.

Thankfully, it’s temporary. Her lifelong dream of travelling the world is just months away from becoming reality. All she has to do is ride out the last few months of high school, which is easier said than done thanks to a trio of mean girls known as The Beautifuls.

When Adam Décarie arrives in town, all the way from New York, life takes an unexpected turn. His arrival sets off a chain of events that alters her life forever, convincing her of one thing. Fate brought him to her.

Saving Wishes is the story of a girl who doesn’t quite fit the life she’s living, and the boy who helps her realize why.

Saving Wishes by G.J. Walker-Smith

Review by Manda Kay

4 Squees/5 Squees

This was a pretty good book that I was happy to read and I breezed through it. I give in 4 out of 5 squees mainly for some moments that had me losing interest and some character development that was lacking, but these instances weren’t frequent as I’ll go into below.

Charli is just my perfect character. She is a bit out there and I loved every minute of it. For a self-published book, this was fantastic. I can honestly say that it was one of the better books of read recently. I loved Adam also, but I just feel like he could have used a tiny bit more character development. As a leading man, I was drawn to him, but not completely.

I also loved the setting of this story. It was just a beautiful sounding little Aussie town that I would love to go live at. The small town life was definitely laid out in this story and I loved that. The Beautifuls were just like any small town “popular” crowd that everyone loves to hate. The author did a great job building this little world that Charli was stuck in and sucked me in immediately.

There is a pretty decent twist also that I didn’t really see coming, but once it was revealed I was like “DUH”. After the way it ends, I for sure will be looking to read the next book. I was intrigued, but not completely enthralled.  All in all Saving Wishes was a good read and worth checking out.

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through Netgalley.com. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.

This entry was posted in Review, YA Review and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

