The Haunting of Sunshine Girl by Paige McKenzie Review

The Haunting of Sunshine Girl

by Paige McKenzie

Publisher: Weinstein Books

Synopsis:

Based on the wildly popular YouTube channel, The Haunting of Sunshine Girl has been described as Gilmore Girls meets Paranormal Activity for the new media age.” YA fans new and old will learn the secrets behind Sunshine the adorkable girl living in a haunted house a story that is much bigger, and runs much deeper, than even the most devoted viewer can imagine.

 

The Haunting of Sunshine Girl by Paige McKenzie

Review by Manda Kay

5 Squees/ 5 Squees

When I read the short synopsis of this one, I was intrigued by the fact that it was based off a YouTube channel. Since I am very involved in the YouTube community, I was very quick interested in checking this one out. A quick internet search did in fact bring up a YouTube channel, but I didn’t look into it to much since I wanted to read this book without too much prior knowledge.

I don’t usually read books with spooky plot lines since I am a pretty big wuss and get freaked out really easily. However, I am glad I picked this one up because I LOVED it. I was immediately pulled in by Sunshine’s voice and I was able to relate to her right away. The book was basically about a girl who moved into a new house in a new town and started being “haunted” be weird sounds and creepy feelings. This novel gave me way more than just a ghost story though. It went deeper into a complicated plot then I was expecting and I am so glad that I gave it a chance. I don’t want to give anything away and since the synopsis is so vague I’ll go ahead and hold out too. Sorry to anyone who is looking for some spoilers. I just can’t do it. I feel like this is a book you have to read for yourself to really get the most out of it.

The main characters, Sunshine and Nolan, were really well written and I loved them from the start. The author really made them relatable and realistic even in a not so relatable and believable plot line. Even though the plot of this story is somewhat unrealistic never once did I feel that way while reading and I even found myself creeped out and scared while reading. Paige McKenzie gave us just enough creep factor while making it still a readable Young Adult novel. I would recommend this book to everyone and I can’t wait to read more from this author and with these characters. I feel like she could take this series really far and do great things with it.

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through Netgalley.com. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.

This entry was posted in Review, Weinstein Books, YA Review and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

